Jackson Saul


Josh Brandon


Saul Alpert-Abrams


Jiaming Tang


Kelsey Nuttall


Lanessa Salvatore


James McKenna


Jane Morton


Chelsea Hanna Cohen

Established in 1974 by graduate students in the MFA Program in Creative Writing, Black Warrior Review is named for the river that borders the campus of The University of Alabama in Tuscaloosa. The city, the river, and the magazine all derive their names from the 16th-century Indigenous leader Tuskaloosa (also spelled “Tushkalusa”), whose name comes from two words of Creek or Choctaw origin—tasca, meaning “warriors,” and lusa, meaning “black.” In 1540, Tuskaloosa battled the Spanish colonizer Hernando de Soto at Mabila, a fortified settlement perhaps in the vicinity of present-day Selma. Tuskaloosa was likely among the thousands who perished in the resistance effort, which is thought to have stopped the the advance of de Soto’s campaign.

BWR publishes fiction, nonfiction, poetry, comics, and art twice a year. Contributors include Pulitzer Prize and National Book Award winners alongside emerging writers. Work appearing in BWR has been reprinted in the Pushcart Prize series, Best American Short StoriesBest American Poetry, PEN/Robert J. Dau Short Story Prize, New Stories from the South, the Wigleaf Top 50, and other anthologies.

Black Warrior Review stands with Black Lives Matter. We encourage you to visit https://blacklivesmatters.carrd.co/ in order to access BLM-endorsed strategies for enacting change locally, nationally, and globally.

In 2019, BWR was awarded a Whiting Literary Magazine Prize and was that year’s Print Development Grantee. The judges’ citation read, “Full of elegance and grit, fluidity and resolve, Black Warrior Review is a singular beacon for adventurous writing that shines forth from Alabama. This journal brings together what is gorgeous and necessary in literature today, treating each piece it publishes as an act of optimistic revolution. Black Warrior Review dissolves convention and leaves possibility in its place.”

BWR‘s past contributors have included Gary Soto, Barry Hannah, Edward Hirsch, William Stafford, Patricia Eakins, Alan Cheuse, C.D. Wright, Charles Simic, Diane Ackerman, James Tate, Stephen Dunn, W.S. Merwin, Annie Dillard, Yusef Komunyakaa, Mark Costello, Lee Upton, Jane Hirshfield, Tess Gallagher, Sydney Lea, William Kittredge, Charles Baxter, John Irving, Margaret Atwood, Rainer Maria Rilke, Billy Collins, Tony Hoagland, Rick Bass, Mary Ruefle, Jenny Offill, John Ashbery, Joy Williams, Rita Dove, Richard Wilbur, Mark Levine, Bob Hicok, Elizabeth Powell, Tony D’Souza, Alice Notley, Robyn Schiff, Anthony Doerr, Sherrie Flick, Anne Carson, Terrance Hayes, Aimee Nezhukumatathil, Leslie Jamison, Lynne Tillman, Deb Olin Unferth, Jennifer Cheng, Lee Klein, Mary Jo Bang, Sabrina Orah Mark, Aimee Bender, Patricia Lockwood, Blake Butler, Paul Lisicky, Joshua Cohen, Roxane Gay, Joyelle McSweeney, Lucy Corin, Kristen Radtke, Vi Khi Nao, Sally Wen Mao, Sara June Woods, Elissa Washuta, sam sax, C Pam Zhang, Kaveh Akbar, Cathy Ulrich, Paul Tran, and Tyrese Coleman, among many others.

Black Warrior Review is indexed in Humanities International Complete, the Book Reviews Index, and the MLA International Bibliography. ISSN: 0193-6301.

No portion of Black Warrior Review or its website may be reproduced without permission. All rights reserved. Copyright © 2017 by Black Warrior Review.